Early Morning Swim

image

There’s a singular sting

To the 6am swim

Early starts afford short-term immunity

An aurorean pass to the avian community

All my bobbing and floatery

Is gazed upon by a Laridae coterie

My unfeathered companion: my towel on a rock

My extremities’ numbing stands in for a clock

I think of the dentist as I’m falling and rising

It’s this beach I conjur when he’s anaesthetising

Strokes grazing the safe, sandy shelf

The fleeting dominion of a beach to myself

The hill will soon spill streams of nets and of noise

Now it’s just me and the sea and the gulls (and the buoys)

Leave a Reply

